Series produced by Jackson Braider

Series image

Six pieces and programs celebrating the 125th anniversary of Igor Stranvinsky's birth

NOTE: This series has been funded with a grant from Sony/BMG Masterworks, the label that carries the recorded legacy of Igor Stravinsky.

2007 marks the 125th anniversary of the birth of Igor Stravinsky. Celebrated for the ballets he created in Paris in the years leading up to WW1 -- The Firebird, Petrushka, The Rite of Spring -- Stravinsky was, arguably, the Beethoven of the modern age. Stravinsky@125, in a series of six radio programs and pieces, explores just some of the many ways we experience his art and craft. Drawing upon interviews with his longtime producer at Columbia Records, John McClure, as well as upon the wisdom of musicians like John Heiss who have devoted years of study to his music, Stravinsky@125 will examine differing facets of the composer and his work.

Additional Files

7 Pieces

Order by: Newest First | Oldest First
Piece image
Three essays about different aspects of Stravinsky's life and work

Bought by WCQS

  • Added: Jun 07, 2007
  • Length: 01:00:25
  • Purchases: 1
Piece image
Igor Stravinsky's Requiem Canticles, from the beginning to the end

  • Added: Jun 06, 2007
  • Length: 17:29
Piece image
Beloved for his full-length ballets, Stravinsky also created a surprising array of very short pieces for orchestra

  • Added: May 24, 2007
  • Length: 16:24
Piece image
How -- and why -- Stravinsky revised theatrical pieces for the concert hall

  • Added: May 08, 2007
  • Length: 13:53
Piece image
The unusual setting where Igor Stravinsky conducted many of his recordings -- Hollywood Post 43 of the American Legion

  • Added: May 02, 2007
  • Length: 16:18
Piece image
Few musical works have inspired so many stories as Stravinsky's 1913 hit, The Rite of Spring. These are just three or four of them.

Bought by KUFM - Montana Public Radio, KPIK-LP, KGLT, KFAI Minneapolis, Connecticut Public (WNPR) and more

  • Added: Mar 12, 2007
  • Length: 13:16
  • Purchases: 8
Piece image
The 46-year history behind a new release of Stravinsky's "The Soldier's Tale"

  • Added: Mar 06, 2007
  • Length: 29:00